Monday, 11 November 2013


Arctic Monkeys are an English indie rock band formed in 2002 in High Green, a suburb of Sheffield. The band consists of Alex Turner (lead vocals, lead/rhythm guitar), Jamie Cook (rhythm/lead guitar), Nick O'Malley (bass guitar, backing vocals), and Matt Helders (drums, backing vocals). Former member Andy Nicholson (bass guitar, backing vocals) left the band in 2006 shortly after their debut album was released.
AM is the fifth studio album by the English indie rock band Arctic Monkeys. It was released on 9 September 2013 in Europe, 6 September 2013 in Australia, and 10 September 2013 in the United States.
In an interview with Zane Lowe on BBC Radio 1, Arctic Monkeys frontman Alex Turner said that the album title was inspired by the Velvet Underground's 1985 compilation album VU. "I actually stole it from the Velvet Underground, I'll just confess that now and get it out of the way. The 'VU' record, obviously," he said. "Did we cop out? Yeah! Summat about it feels like this record is exactly where we should be right now. So it felt right to just initial it."
The album was promoted by the singles: "R U Mine?", "Do I Wanna Know?", "Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High?" and "One for the Road". It features guest appearances by Josh Homme, Bill Ryder-Jones and Pete Thomas, and was produced by James Ford and co-produced by Ross Ortonat Sage & Sound Recording in Los Angeles and Rancho De La Luna in Joshua Tree, California.
The album received widespread critical acclaim and was nominated for the 2013 Mercury Prize for best album.
Commercially, AM has become Arctic Monkeys' most successful album to date, topping the charts in several countries, and reaching the top 10 positions in many more. In the United Kingdom, Arctic Monkeys broke a record with AM, becoming the first independent-label band to debut at number one in the UK with their first five albums.
Simon Harper of Clash magazine states, "Welding inspiration from hip-hop greats with rock's titans, 'AM' is built upon portentous beats that are dark and intimidating, yet wickedly thrilling."

Track list:
01 - Do I Wanna Know? - 00:00
02 - R U Mine? - 04:31
03 - One for the Road - 07:53
04 - Arabella - 11:19
05 - Want It All - 14:46
06 - No.1 Party Anthem - 17:50
07. - Mad Sounds - 21:54
08 - Fireside - 25:29
09 - Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High? - 28:30
10 - Snap Out Of It - 31:12
11 - Knee Socks - 34:24
12 - I Wanna Be Yours - 38:39

Have an indie night!

No comments: